myCloud offers both: On myCloud Desktop, the browser, and the mobile app, you can edit files on one device and then access them from another, as they have been saved and synchronised to your cloud storage.
Backup, on the other hand, is a feature that continuously creates a backup copy of your data for you so you can restore it in case of data loss.
Many people rely on an external hard drive, but even that can stop working, so we advise backing up with the cloud as well. This means that even if you accidentally delete or overwrite something, or your hard drive breaks, you can easily restore the latest or an older version of your data with the myCloud backup.
The myCloud Computer Backup is exclusively available for our myCloud Pro customers and is located within the myCloud Desktop app.
Another advantage of the myCloud Backup feature is that your deleted/overwritten files do not go to the trash, but to the archive. This gives you the possibility to restore your archived data within one year.