Normally, the myCloud Mobile App can only upload photos & videos as long as the app is open and a few minutes after the app has been closed. This was so designed by Apple to cease unnecessary processes from possibly running in the background and thus reduce battery usage.
If you activate the option “Background App Refresh” in your device’s settings, it will be possible for the app to upload data even when it’s not in use. This is made possible by allowing the myCloud Mobile App to be notified of a change in your location. Allowing the app to check the status of your location will keep the app “active” in the background and will ensure that the upload can be carried out in the background.
For this reason, the myCloud App will ask you for permission to access the location of your iPhone/iPad.
Please note: your location data for this function will neither be analysed nor forwarded to third parties. Since only significant changes in location apply, activating this setting does not lead to increased battery use.